View Results

Europe's Strongest Man + World Deadlift Championships

Europe's Strongest Man + World Deadlift Championships
null

The strongest men in the world are back to Leeds in 2016. The First Direct Arena plays host to Europe's Strongest Man and the World Deadlift Championships on Saturday July 9th, 2016. Approaching a sold-out 10,000+ person crowd, one of the biggest strongman shows will become an even bigger spectacle as the 'giants' run with cars, toss kegs, lift giants logs and tackle the legendary atlas stones.




This year's line-up is historical. The 6' 9" Hathor "Thor" Bjornssson of Iceland (famed for his role as 'The Mountain' in the hit TV series "Game of Thrones"), is back to defend his title for the third time. Plus, 2X Britain's Strongest Man Eddie "The Beast" Hall vows to hit the seemingly unimaginable half ton (500kg.) deadlift and defend his crown as World Deadlift Champion. The best of the best will be there, but even the most seasoned veterans need to watch for darkhorses too. Only the strongest will emerge victorious.

Don't. Miss. This.

If you can't wait until the 9th, our 2016 Arnold Amateur Strongman and Arnold Strongman Classic archived videos may be able to hold you over until then.

Results Can Be Found Here

null

Hafthor "The Mountain" Bjornsson (Iceland)
Age: 26
Height: 6' 9"
Weight: 175kg (386lbs)
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Eddie "The Beast" Hall (England)

Age: 28
Height: 6' 2"
Weight: 173kg (381lbs)
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Johannes Arsjo (Sweden)
Age: 30
Height: 6' 3"
Weight: 138kg (304lbs)
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Mateusz Kieliszkowski (Poland)
Age: 22
Height: 6' 4"
Weight: 140kg (309lbs)
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Adam Bishop (England)
Age: 27
Height: 6' 2"
Weight: 130kg (287lbs)
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Laurence Shahlaei (England)
Age: 33
Height: 6' 2.5"
Weight: 140kg (309lbs)
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Mark Felix (England)
Age: 50
Height: 6' 3"
Weight: 145kg (320lbs)
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Marius Lalas (Lithuania)
Age: 30
Height: 5' 11"
Weight: 125kg (276lbs)
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Terry Hollands (England)
Age: 37
Height: 6' 4"
Weight: 180kg (397lbs)
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Dimitar Savatinov (Bulgaria)
Age: 35
Height: 5' 10"
Weight: 153kg (337lbs)
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Stefan Solvi (Iceland)
Age: 30
Height: 6' 5"
Weight: 160kg (353lbs)
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Benedikt Magnusson* (Iceland)
Age: 33
Height: 6'
Weight: 171kg (377lbs)
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Jerry Pritchett* (USA)
Age: 34
Height: 6' 4"
Weight: 160kg (353lbs)
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Adam Derks* (USA)
Age: 24
Height: 6'
Weight: 111kg (245lbs)
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

* = Guest in deadlift only
null

6:05 PM (BST)/12:05 PM (CDT): Flag Ceremony

6:23 PM (BST)/12:23 PM (CDT): World Deadlift Championships
  • Round 1 = 400kg
  • Round 2 = 420kg
  • Round 3 = 440kg
  • Round 4 = 465kg*
  • Round 5 = 500kg*
* = World Record attempt

7:35 PM (BST)/1:35 PM (CDT): Frame Carry

8:15 PM (BST)/2:15 PM (CDT): Log Press For Reps

8:50 PM (BST)/2:50 PM (CDT): Car Walk

9:17 PM (BST)/3:17 PM (CDT): Atlas Stones

9:45 PM (BST)/3:45 PM (CDT): World Deadlift Championships Award Ceremony

9:48 PM (BST)/3:48 PM (CDT): Europe's Strongest Man Award Ceremony

All Articles

Europe's Strongest Man Recap

Jul 12, 2016 by Paige Bayer - 0 Comments

By: Kalle BeckThe strongest men in the world were in Leeds, England, onSaturday tothrow down for the title of Europe's Strongest M
Europe's Strongest Man Event Breakdowns

Jul 8, 2016 by Paige Bayer - 5 Comments

By: Kalle BeckEvery year, the events get heavier and more difficult at Europe's Strongest Man, and this year is no different. T
null

Deadlift
  • Stand up with most weight off floor on a simple bar
  • Opening weight = 400kg (882lbs)
  • Current World Record = Eddie Hall (463kg/1020lbs)
Frame Carry
  • 390kg (850lbs)
  • Must cover 20m distance as fast as possible
  • Time limit = 60sec
  • Failure to complete the course in time means a distance is taken
Car Walk
  • 450kg (1,000lbs)
  • Must be carried down 20m course as fast as possible
  • Failure to complete the course in the time limit will mean a measurement is taken
Log Press For Reps
  • 170kg (375lbs)
  • Must be taken from ground and pressed overhead for as many repetitions as possible
  • Time limit = 60sec
Atlas Stones
  • 5 stones (140kg-200kg)/(309lbs-441lbs)
  • Load all five stones in fastest possible time (time will be taken on each stone loaded)
  • Time limit = 75sec
Top
FloSports, Inc.

FloSports, an innovative sports media and events company, based in Austin, Texas, is the authentic source for content and a new world of coverage that true fans have been waiting for. Focused on three areas – live competition and coverage, original content, and owned and operated events – the company takes fragmented communities and provides them the platform to connect with the sports they love.

Learn More at FloSports.tv