IWF Recommends New Individual Olympic Qualification Process

John David Mercer-USA TODAY Sports

With the recent controversy in clean competition being a heated topic of discussion in the weightlifting world as of late, it’s no surprise the IWF Sport Programme Commission (SPC) is taking action. 

The SPC met this week to discuss changes to the Olympic Qualification system, competition format, and weight categories with new recommendations on the qualification system.

The SPC recommended that individual athletes qualify for the Games over a shortened 18-month period before Tokyo 2020. Two IWF World Championships take place over the course of these 18 months. The athletes looking to qualify will be required to participate in Olympic Qualification competitions to ensure they’re routinely subjected to doping tests.

The previous qualification process was a very complicated points-based system in which countries earned spots by competing at the two World Championships leading up to the Olympic Games then decided internally which athletes they would send.

As far as the changes to weight class categories go, male and female athletes from all weight categories will compete during the qualification process — from which seven will form the Olympic medal events for each gender. 

A maximum of 14 athletes per weight class will compete, with each nation allowed a maximum of only four athletes per gender and only one per medal event. 

The SPC is still in discussion with the format of new weight categories. The competition format is also under review as the SPC explores new ways to make the events as exciting and appealing to the audience as possible. 

You can read the full release by the IWF here.

By Steph Lodge

Always Be Crushing With Hunter McIntyre, Week 11

3x5 back squat heavy/ drop weight to 60% complete max reps for 60 second

Join PRO Now to Get Unlimited Access to FloElite!

Join Now

Already a PRO Member? Log In

The Wodapalooza Online Challenge And Qualifier Dates!

Summer 2018 isn’t even officially here, but already the fitness community can look forward to 2019 with today’s release of the dates for The Wodapalooza Online Challenge and Qualifier. Wodapalooza brings out a monster swell of the fitness community each January — with 25,000 spectators and 1,500 athletes representing countries all over the world, Miami in the new year is the place to be for fans, beginners, and fitness stars alike. 

CrossFit Is Suing Reebok: Here's What You Need To Know

On Thursday, CrossFit, Inc. filed suit against Reebok for “breach of contract,” “breach of covenant of good faith and fair dealing,” and “violations of Massachusetts General Laws Ch. 93A (aka the Consumer Protection Act.)” 

Granite Games: Workout No. 1 Released, Plus A Look At Historical Moments

The Road to Minnesota for the 2018 Kill Cliff Granite Games begins in earnest this week with the announcement of the first of three qualifying workouts. Fitness athletes across the globe will tackle the weekly qualifying tests — spanning from now to July 2 — with the shared goal of joining the 2,000 strong slated to compete September 7-9 in St. Cloud, Minnesota.

Building Stable Weightlifting Positions With Greg Everett Week 12

In this final week, you’ll finish tapering for max lifts on Saturday. Make sleep and nutrition a priority this week!

Join PRO Now to Get Unlimited Access to FloElite!

Join Now

Already a PRO Member? Log In

Becca Voigt & Ben Smith Highlight The Drama From 2018 CrossFit Regionals

 By Lincoln Shryack

After three straight weekends of qualifying mayhem at the 2018 CrossFit Regionals, the fields of 40 men and 40 women moving on to the 2018 CrossFit Games in Madison, Wisconsin, are set. There were breathtaking performances from past champions, many first-time qualifiers, and, of course, heartbreak for those who came up just short of the cutline across the globe in the nine dramatic qualifying events. Overall, each of the nine regionals lived up to the hype and more.

Always Be Crushing With Hunter McIntyre, Week 10

Raw strength day- everything is performed in super sets until you reach a functioning weight which you sustain for as along as possible 

Join PRO Now to Get Unlimited Access to FloElite!

Join Now

Already a PRO Member? Log In

Kill Cliff Granite Games Release Workout Hint

As you probably know, the Kill Cliff Granite Games is one of the most badass events of the year, and it'll air live from Minnesota on FloElite this fall. We've got a few months before things get real, but the qualifying workouts begin very, very soon — and the team at Granite Games just released the first hint.

Building Stable Weightlifting Positions With Greg Everett Week 11

You’ll begin tapering a bit this week in preparation for snatch and clean and jerk maxes next. Saturday: NO MISSES on heavy single squat attempts

Join PRO Now to Get Unlimited Access to FloElite!

Join Now

Already a PRO Member? Log In

Regional Weekend No. 3: The Toomey vs Saunders Rematch Will Be Epic

It’s hard to believe it, but upon the conclusion of this weekend’s Atlantic, Pacific, and Meridian Regionals, the CrossFit Games will be less than two months away. Summer may still be a few weeks out, but the heat is already here, and the best fitness athletes in the world are rounding into shape for a shot at the biggest prize in the sport.